Archinect
anchor

Where to find the drafters for shop drawings

fenwayrabbit

I have a project need find a drafter for the shop drawings of a floating stair. My structural engineer can review and sign the drawing, but he is can't draft. Where can I find a drafter?

I also want to know, in general, where can we find drafter even for architectural drawings. I am a licensed architect, sometimes I do need find someone draw for me to speed things up. Thanks.

Apr 19, 24 9:52 am
Non Sequitur

draw it yourself

Apr 19, 24 12:00 pm  · 
 · 
whistler

Agreed, I did all the steel shop drawings for my last house, nothing like honing your skills and committing to the build... especially if you fuck up and have to pay the bill for it...thankfully there was no fucking up!

Apr 19, 24 2:27 pm  · 
 · 

If you know your shit, you'd be okay but be careful to the extent of when you are getting involved into the domain of the construction contractor's role. You shouldn't need to be getting into stuff like detailed metal fabrication and welding shop drawings. Insurance companies can almost have a heart attack if you were preparing the shop drawings unless you are also a construction contractor and thus duly licensed and additionally covered by insurance for construction.

Apr 21, 24 9:07 pm  · 
1  · 
whistler

Well I was the owner builder and knew the situation as well as anyone on the job site. By me doing it I kew it would be accurate and correct, Still has the engineer review it all and refine where needed IE stiffener plates etc.

Apr 22, 24 1:19 pm  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname

Try asking the drafting teacher at your local community college.  Contractors in your community may also have contacts for freelance drafters.

Apr 19, 24 12:41 pm  · 
2  · 
Almosthip

I'm pretty sure we are all looking for competent drafters

Apr 19, 24 1:25 pm  · 
 · 

reliable shop drawings could be supplied by the fabricator.

Apr 19, 24 3:00 pm  · 
1  · 
JonathanLivingston