Archinect
anchor

General Conditions Limits

MSLACAT

I'm seeking a clearer definition of General Conditions that I can hang my hat on. I am an architect drafting an AIA B133 agreement,  The state and federal funding organizations have strict restrictions on the construction manager's Profit (6%), Overhead (2%), and General Conditions (6%).  They don't though define what they consider GC's to be. I need to , delineate what falls under General Conditions and what merits a separate line item in the construction cost (schedule of values). This poses a significant challenge. Simply including everything listed under GCs in the AIA A201 would easily exceed the allowable percentage 2-3 times fold.

Certain elements like management personnel, field office expenses, project safety measures, on-site communication infrastructure, and office supplies undeniably fall under the umbrella of General Conditions.

However, items such as permitting, bonding (given their variability from project to project), builders risk insurance, staking surveying, rental equipment (e.g., forklifts), and temporary power seem more appropriate for separate line items in the schedule of values. This distinction in my mind stems from the fact that these costs are largely beyond the construction manager's control. If we're to hold the CM strictly to a 6% allocation, they must have influence over or be able to manage the expenses associated with these items.

I'm open to thoughts and insights on this matter. Despite extensive research into the definition of GC costs, it's evident that there's no consensus among various sources. Any comments or recommendations for reputable sources or literature that could provide clarity would be greatly appreciated. 

Apr 18, 24 6:00 pm
betonbrut