Archinect
anchor

How can I land my first commercial job with only residential experience?

hannah_banannah

This is technically an *interior* architect question, but I've been having trouble finding many forums just for that field. Hoping someone may be able to help me here.

I graduated in 2019 in the US with a BFA in interior architecture, but have forgotten a lot of the technical skills/software/building code info I learned in college. I've spent the last 5 years working at a boutique residential design firm and feel really stuck. There's no upward trajectory here and it never feels like I'm doing meaningful work. It's the only job I've ever had since graduating, so my experience is really limited.

I'd love to be able to get a job as a junior/entry-level designer at a larger commercial firm, somewhere where they can support your career development alongside the job, enter competitions, sponsorship for NCIDQ exams, etc. But my portfolio needs a major revamp and I have no commercial experience. The most technical real-life construction experience I have is kitchen/bath renovations and custom millwork in single-family homes.

What can I do to make myself more appealing to commercial firms looking for new junior designers? I know I'd be competing with younger people/recent grads, and I worry my current skillset is not enough. I also have no connections left from my school, and haven't really put any work into networking. Covid did a number on my social anxiety. I don't even know what kinds of questions I would be asked in an interview. YouTube and extensive Google searches have only given me so much info.