Archinect
anchor

Unpaid Internships

sgs23

I've seen a number of posts here concerning unpaid internships and thought this article in the nation might help clear up some of the legal issues and concerns.http://www.thenation.com/blogs/question/525995/the_il_legality_of_unpaid_internships

Feb 4, 10 12:41 pm
pdigi

that's rough. i am a new grad in that position. on one hand, i desperately need the experience to get my foot in the door. on the other hand it's very difficult to sustain myself. it's unfortunate because i don't know how much longer i can do this.

Feb 4, 10 1:46 pm  · 
 · 
dsc_arch

The Nation article was very interesting, and timely.

I was approached yesterday to take on an upaid intern from UIC undergraduate architecture for 20 hours per week for six months. I believe that candidate will get course credit for the time.

At this time we do not need anyone. In fact, We will need to make work for that person. However if we are not paying that person and they are getting school credit, we my consider it.

While we are awaiting the CV, it did get us thinking about the problems of taking on a green intern. Read: someone who does not have any office experience.

We talked about the time and effort we put into training someone is not offset with the output the intern produces. Furthermore, the training, the teaching of standards / conventions, the basic questions, and the fixing of their mistakes, all consume a ton of our time that could best be placed elsewhere.

In our experience of training over 22 interns during the past 12 years, the mean time to train a green intern into a profitable employee is two years. Over this time there has been only one exception.

So if DOL says the following...

<<The United States Department of Labor provides six criteria that must <p>all</p> be met for the student to not be considered an employee and therefore does not have to receive compensation.

The six criteria include: