Archinect
anchor

Unpaid Internships

bRink

As a reference, when I was an intern, I was paid 17.50 per hour, plus wage and a half overtime... This was for a fixed 6 month internship, great experience... The interns received a small bonus at bonus time, more as a token of appreciation... Due to alot of overtime, it actually paid quite a decent amount to live for 6 months... Interns in that office were floating labor moving between projects as needed, primarily contributing to cad, 2d and 3d graphical work, model building, document preparation in a strictly assisting role, occassional site visits... By employing interns in a floating role, projects could be staffed with project architects and pms, overseen by design principals, with the project architects "signing up" for hours of intern time as they needed on their projects... Aside from office wide crits etc the primary mentorship came from the project teams for the most part... There was one or two project architects who were the intern coordinators on the side of their project work, managing the schedules and staffing projects on a week by week basis... While there was a great culture of mentorship in the office generally, there wasn't really a dedicated training period or budget... The training was really on the job- the responsability of the whole office... This worked really well because of the culture of collaboration that was developed through the example of the senior staff... The firm had also developed a reputation as one of the better offices to work for through this culture and many permanent staff are former interns who went and worked at other offices in the city and later returned after accumulating valuable experience at other offices... Interns can be highly profitable IMHO if they are integrated into billing schedules very efficiently... This office in my mind set the bar for what an intern program that is sustainable should be...

Feb 16, 10 4:33 pm  · 
 · 
bRink