Archinect
anchor

Landscape Architecture MLA 2007

reveillette

hey guys,

congrats to those of you who have been accepted and good luck to those who haven't heard. i'm in my first year of the 3-year MLA at Penn right now and can say that yes, you do get inundated with the aesthetic preferences of your critic--I had Anu Mathur last semester and it was all about triangulating, traversing, plotting, and sectioning, and now have one of Jim Corner's FO designers and all we hear about is Fresh Kills, OMA, and La Villette. But...I can say that everyone in my class is extremely smart to what might otherwise seem like brainwashing and, despite the presentations and suggested references, the critics really do encourage you to bring out your personal style. In fact at all of the reviews thus far the strongest designers are the ones whose individual design perceptions stand out, and the weakest are those who, for lack of a coherent concept, revert to imitations of whatever the critic showed on powerpoints throughout the semester.

So, probably more information than you wanted about Penn, since most seem to be focused on UW and RISD here, but all that's to say is Penn is a great place if you are willing to push yourself past the inevitable references to the gods of pretentious contemporary landscape. I haven't met anyone who isn't capable of this; moreover, I haven't met anyone who isn't glad they chose Penn. I know I've grown tremendously as a designer just in one and a half semesters so I'm looking forward to the next two years (but I'm looking forward to summer more! That's the other great thing about Penn--a 4 month summer break!)

Mar 13, 07 12:03 am  · 
 · 
jwillefo

reveillette- I was just wondering, how often do the MLA and MARCH students interact, both through work and socially? Is there a lot of mingling throughout the architecture school, or do MLA and MARCH students stick to themselves.