Archinect
anchor

The assumptions of the general public about the architecture profession..

Paradox

I was talking to my restaurant manager the other day and in the conversation I mentioned I was an architecture student so she started talking about how her architect friends had such nice jobs, made lots of money and lived an awesome life blah blah..(I'm a busgirl at that restaurant by the way) And this other lady who was renting a room in her house asked me if I was going to move to the city when I graduate in December and "become an architect".I told her it was really expensive in NYC and she asked me why I'd have difficulty renting a place over there since "we" charge "a lot" for our services. I heard the same thing from another couple of people: architects charge a lot money and make a lot of money!
From what I observed not a lot of people know the construction industry is in the toilet. When I tell them it is almost impossible to get a job in the architecture/construction industry I see the surprised look on their faces! It may be a naive question but how do people make these assumptions? And how can it be corrected?

Nov 20, 09 12:15 pm
comb

Why do you want to change the "assumption" ... isn't it more important to change the "reality"?

Nov 20, 09 12:21 pm  · 
 · 
Paradox

Change the reality? I'm not sure that's possible but that's another topic of discussion. I think public education on architecture is important because I've been asked countless times "what really architects do"!

Nov 20, 09 12:28 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

you get what you pay for - the public wants everything for cheap or 'free'. So the fact that we charge a few % upfront compared to contractors burying the 'design' fees in the bid, we seem expensive.

Nov 20, 09 12:35 pm  · 
 · 

Alright...