Archinect
anchor

Emerging Job Wave?

urbanDC

I'm a architect in the DC area (5 years experience) who was laid off from a firm this past spring that worked solely on commercial project types (high rise multi-family, hospitality, office, retail). When the money for these dried up, 60% of the firm was pushed out the door.

In the DC area now, most firms have stopped or considerably slowed layoffs (with the exception of healthcare, which has been the last typology to depress, from talking to others in the industry). Also, there is a great demand for new urban residential product in the next few years, so it would seem that multi-family will be the projects that lead us out of the recession. There are also a few large firms (such as HDR, URS, AECOM) that specialize in federal and infrastructure work that are very busy and hiring strategically.

A drawback from not working is being out of touch on industry news. Are there those who work for firms in large urban areas who have seen a rise in project starts again? Is there any chatter about firms projecting to start to hire again in the next few months?

Oct 29, 09 11:21 am
wurdan freo

I don't see how multi family projects other than those that are HUD backed or LIHTC will move forward given the CRE market is about to nose dive just like the single family home market did. Residential Rental Vacancies across the country are very high and landlords have been forced to lower rents due to the many people who are moving in with family and renting out their own places that they purchased during the boom. I did read that DC was one of the better places currently for AEC so that is probably what you are experiencing. As far as getting out of this anytime soon? I don't think so. I do not work in architecture, however.