Archinect
anchor

Something Unexpected has happened

Sarah Hamilton

Is it possible to begin IDP, and take all ARE tests in 9 months?

A brief background. I graduated in 2006 with my Proffesional degree, and have only just recieved the IDP information packet; my but they are slow aren't they.

In the state of Texas, you can begin to take your exams after only 6 months experience, I don't believe you will get your liscense until you complete IDP though.

The issue is that I wanted to have my all my testing out of the way before I had kids, and now my Husband and I find ourselves in a bit of a situation about 4 years too early.

Is it even possible to have the ARE completed by the deadline in nine months, and if not, what is the likelyhood I can study and still pass all my tests with a kid?

Has anybody else had to do this?

Jun 20, 07 9:01 am
Ms Beary

Are you saying you are pregnant? congrats!

Jun 20, 07 9:09 am  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

Liberty, I know you are away teaching, I am slightly jealous, but you are the only woman no here with a child that I know of; is this just a pipe dream?

Jun 20, 07 9:10 am  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

Its still too new to be a congrats yet, not to sound ungrateful. I'm just still in shock.

Jun 20, 07 9:12 am  · 
 · 

you can easily finish all of your exams within 9 months with a little bit of effort... take at least 1 a month... and take a few in clumps... for example...

take general structures and lateral forces back to back over 2-3 days...

take pre-design and construction docs at roughly the same time...

take the 3 graphics exams around the same time...

Jun 20, 07 9:15 am  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

Practice for the 3 graphics xams - I found them to be the most "tricky": they seem simple enough but read the instructions carefully for words like only one, and do familiarize yourself with the downloadable practice xams f

Jun 20, 07 9:26 am  · 
 · 
Frit