Archinect
anchor

getting out of jury duty

mdler

any suggestions...within the next hour??

Jun 6, 07 2:31 pm
mdler

i may just say that I am an architect and hate everything

Jun 6, 07 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

show up as garwondLer!

Jun 6, 07 2:35 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

I got called for jury duty a couple years ago when I was in the middle of job hunting. When they asked why I wouldn't be able to serve, I told them that I had a non-refundable plane ticket for a job interview. I was excused.

Others excuses were that they were unable to afford day care for their kids, they were the sole proprietor of a business, and one very old lady's excuse was "I'm too damn old!"

Jun 6, 07 2:42 pm  · 
 · 
cln1

for the past year i have dreamed about being called for jury duty. just for the oppertunity to sit and read for an entire day... mmm - or even to get on a case.

Jun 6, 07 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

Be careful what you wish for - the case I was preliminary selected for was anticipated to last several months. When the judge asked prospective jury members to raise their hands if they were unable to serve, a good 90% of them were raised...

Jun 6, 07 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

i would love to do jury duty but have never been called. of course, i would probably be excused for my radical left leanings.

Jun 6, 07 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
baboomba

Just don't go and pay the fine. Jury duty is bullshit.

Jun 6, 07 2:55 pm  · 
 · 
mightylittle™

i would love to serve on a jury, in fact, i'm currently called for the end of this month. first time.

i can't afford to miss the billable time though, and as an independent contractor ia told them i have no employer compensation for my missed time.

haven't heard back yet.

i say show up good and drunk.

Jun 6, 07 3:00 pm  · 
 · 

get married to an assistant state/district attorney...

it works for me...

Jun 6, 07 3:01 pm  · 
 · 
silverlake

I just threw my notice away. It wasn't certified, so it could have been a postal error...