Archinect
anchor

new cities in china

hey all,

i'm currently doing a masterplanning project, and i am researching how new cities grow or are planned. china is the most interesting country in which this is now happening, outside of dubai, where my project is based.

can anyone give me some names of these new cities, either planned or have been constructed within the last 20 years?

thanks.

May 3, 07 9:42 am
swisscardlite

though i can't name any, i'd say that a lot of the cities existing in china now are definitely younger than 20 years old. with loosening economic regulations in the 80's, cities have sprung up all over the place...so fast that planning doesn't play the central role in the process of producing a new city.

the most interesting one that i can think of is the anting automobile international city, which kind of epitomizes china's urban state right now as a very postmodern, eclectic city filled with green terraces, "german" towns, shops selling british imports, and other foreign influences

May 3, 07 11:07 am  · 
 · 
MUUM79

i think its a little over 20 years old, but shenzhen, which is in the Pearl River Delta region, has exploded in population within that time period. it used to be a fishing village, now its one of the busiest ports in china with a 6million+ residents. Deng Xiaoping granted shenzhen as a Special Economic Zone with its proximity to Hong Kong and to explore the realm of capitalism.

May 3, 07 2:06 pm  · 
 · 
FRO

oddly enough, there is an article about just this in the new WIRED magazine

May 3, 07 2:08 pm  · 
 · 

superb, i'll scoot over and check it out.

May 3, 07 3:27 pm  · 
 · 
Jonas77

this article may interested you they are building new cities in south china near Hong Kong around the idea of Arcology

http://www.cityfarmer.org/frick.html#frick

May 3, 07 4:09 pm  · 
 · 
Arjun Bhat

the PRD -- shenzhen, guangzhou, zuhai, macao