anchor

the 2nd great wall of china

Philarct

Anybody hear about the chinese
building a large replica of the
great wall of china so that graffiti
artists wouldnt tag the actual wall of
china?
what do u guys think of graffiti anyways?
im a tagger myself

Mar 27, 07 3:41 pm
chupacabra

are you a property owner?

Mar 27, 07 3:43 pm  · 
 · 
quixotica

I have no problem with street art or Graffiti. I think it adds an element of liveliness to an area. Allthough i prefer actual art instead of just someone's tag. Especially in Philly, there is some amazing street art out there.

But the great wall of china? C'mon people, get some class.

Mar 27, 07 3:45 pm  · 
 · 
Philarct

no im not a property owner, but i only tag run down buildings
and skate parks, i use spray paint and street stickers
quixotica-ur right taggin history is low

Mar 27, 07 3:53 pm  · 
 · 
n_

i LOVE,LOVE graffiti. i LOVE,LOVE architecture. i LOVE,LOVE beautiful graffiti juxtposed on a defunct building.

i don't tag. i usually stencil away. i like for my art to have more of a meaning behind it other than my tagging name. i attempt to craete stencils that make people more aware of their built environment. and the usually are politically charged. i feel small illustrations have the power to make people think outside their box, even for a short second or two.

while graffiti means something postive for me, i have a few reservations abou it. it's a catch 22. i understand why people think it's vandalism, dangerous for their communities (only in instances of gang or drug activity), etc.

anyway, i joined an architecture competition last year and my project was all about tagging and graffiti on movable surfaces. if you want to check it out, philarct, i'll email it to you.

this is my latest stencil:

Mar 27, 07 3:54 pm  · 
 · 
n_

oh yea, and that photo is an obligatory hipster shot for one of my friends. as a joke.

Mar 27, 07 3:55 pm  · 
 · 
n_