Archinect
anchor

poor architects???

joben

wow this is awesome... I have alot of rethinking of my rethinking to do... maybe ill just get a heard of sheep and tend to them... i hear theres good money in that

Jul 28, 09 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
joben

I know making $100,000 a year isnt the norm for architects, I am just trying to figure out the best way to possibly reach this level... I would love to practice architecture, but if I have to do it "on the side" while I utilize my skills, if I got an MBA for instance, to accrue a nice paycheck than thats what Ill have to do until I make my break...

jump - where did you get your phd in urban planning from and how long was that program to get the masters and the phd? and you have a MArch or a phd in architecture also? Do you feel that with all of this knowledge and all of your degrees and experience you have alot of opportunities available to you to kind of get your hands on some cool projects and get involved in a good number of things? how is someone with your credentials able to hold up in this tough economic time? job security wise?... paycheck wise?... etc?

Jul 28, 09 7:00 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory

marry rich. end of story.

Jul 28, 09 7:02 pm  · 
 · 
joben

thanks for the optimistic advice... maybe engineering is a smarter route to go... does anyone know if you have a bachelors already, hypothetically speaking, lets say it was environmental planning, would you need to do a full 4 year program to get a bachelors degree in engineering? or would this bachelors allow me to opt out of a few classes, a semester, a year, 2 years...??? I understand I would need to take like physics/calc/etc, but im planning on taking that this year anyway because I was planning on getting my MArch, but with all the pessimistic comments about the field I feel I really need to reconsider what my plans are...

Jul 28, 09 7:34 pm  · 
 · 
swisscardlite