Archinect
anchor

is your instructor qualified to teach?

vado retro

my comment was meant to reflect that quoting philosophers 2000 years dead in regard to aesthetics doesnt make a whole hell of a lot of difference or sense.

Oct 8, 07 1:44 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

the architect is the general contractor of the design side, cordinating all the design, theoretical, artistic pragmatic and technical.

Oct 8, 07 2:45 pm  · 
 · 
nonarchitect

The question should be "What should architecture schools be teaching?" When that question gets answered then we can define who should qualify. The more troubling thing for me is the cronyism in architecture academia ( not that it doesn't exist elsewhere), but i think that when schools lack clear goals, and have a somewhat ambiguous curriculum, the hiring process becomes much too subjective. When I was a student I doubt not the "qualification" ( they all look good on paper) , but if they had anything to say...it isn't about "doing" or "thinking", its just whether they have a clear idea at all that they truly believed in, and if they could articulate those...Sadly, with the exception of a few, most don't...

Oct 9, 07 6:14 pm  · 
 · 
brian buchalski

most of my teachers weren't pretty enough to teach me anything.

Oct 9, 07 6:24 pm  · 
 · 

i am guessing that any accredited school has a very specific curriculum and set of topics that they are required to teach in order to be recognised as part of education towards beciming a professional...the question of what to teach has been answered, on a national level, and teachers are hired within that framework. it may not feel like it, but accreditation is a powerful tool for shaping content around North America.