Archinect
anchor

Architect License Hold Harmless Agreement

Anon Myous

I'm an architect looking to join a firm which would like to use my license to stamp drawings. I'm looking for some kind of legally binding document which will hold me not liable for any claims brought against projects which use my license. The owner of the firm has liability insurance and the agent has stated in an email that I won’t be held liable ever. What should I do?

Apr 17, 24 2:57 pm
BulgarBlogger

what state is this in? Are you sure the owner isn’t misrepresenting himself as an architect? 

Apr 17, 24 3:05 pm  · 
 · 

No state would allow what the OP is suggesting for these hold harmless agreements in the manner the OP is suggesting. It would be laughed at in the courts and stricken as unenforceable clause in the contract. Architects can not escape such responsibility, period.

Apr 18, 24 3:42 am  · 
2  · 
BulgarBlogger

also, how could he take our liability insurance for a service he isn’t allowed to offer unless you’re saying that he is willing to pay for your liability insurance, in which case- why need insurance if he says you will never be held liable ever? 

In my experience, he can hold you harmless against claims from himself and his company, but he can’t protect or hold you harmless against claims from the general public.

Apr 17, 24 3:08 pm  · 
3  · 

Good point but even then, the court court still negate that clause. So its kind of a WTF moment when I read the OP.

Apr 18, 24 3:43 am  · 
 · 
reallynotmyname

Are you being hired to be an officer or partner in the firm?  Otherwise, it is strange to me that they would want you stamping drawings.  Unless its an something like an engineering firm and you are going to be the only architect.