Archinect
anchor

Accommodations from NCARB for exams - mental health

artsygirl

I have long documented bipolar disorder. I am very stable & have an amazing career. I definitely have special needs though. I work remote with a flexible schedule. Sometimes I rest during the day between batches of work. I have 20 years experience. It’s easier to do that now.

I know I’m protected by ADA and have the right to accommodations, but I am nervous disclosing to NCARB my diagnosis with a doctor’s letter. I’m afraid it will flag me, and I could possibly be denied a license. Is that totally irrational? I’ve been told to not tell NCARB anything, but fuck stigma. I’m smart and talented. I owe it to myself to get licensed.

Thoughts? Advice? 

Mar 25, 24 9:29 pm
msparchitect

Aren't you equally protected from retaliation? Honestly F* NCARB. If you feel you need accommodation, esp after demonstrating that you have decades of doing this in the real world, then force them to. If they retaliate, sue them. Destroy NCARB for all of us. They have no friends here or anywhere.

Mar 25, 24 9:49 pm  · 
4  · 
artsygirl

honestly, that’s what someone I trust told me. If they deny or discriminate, it’s lawsuit time.

I am damn proud of myself. I worked on about 60 million dollars worth of projects in the past two years. I’ve become an expert in large scale, complex healthcare projects. I’m a fucking unicorn & I’m proud of it. I hope to get my license and freely speak to students about breaking down stigma and achieving anything, even with a serious mental disability. 

Mar 25, 24 10:15 pm  · 
3  · 
x-jla

I don’t know you, but Im proud of you too! I have close family members with severe mental illnesses, and have struggled myself with depression and anxiety…it’s tough.

Mar 26, 24 3:50 pm  · 
2  · 
artsygirl