Archinect
anchor

Contract Work for Another Architect

Hi everyone,

I am a licensed architect but I haven't worked in the field for five years due to raising kids and civic service. I have five years of professional experience prior to that.

I am looking to get back in the profession with part time work and had an offer from a former employer for contract work under his wife who runs a separate firm. I will share more details this week but I haven't done this kind of work agreement. Here is what I have so far:

• She is licensed and insured.
  • She wants 12-24 hrs. a week, I suspect for drafting, modeling, and documents. Mostly remote.
  • I have a computer and would likely pay software subscriptions.

Should I have concerns on my end or can it be as simple as a cash for drawings deal? I would obviously pay taxes myself. Should I get insured professionally or from a business standpoint? Does anyone have experience with an agreement like this?

Thanks ahead of time.

Mar 24, 24 11:47 am
bennyc

Sounds pretty simple. You should have a simple contract for drafting services only and I don't think you need your own professional liability insurance, as that lies with the architect you are working for. Just make sure you have the fine print in your contract that you are not providing architectural service or liable for code / zoning but strictly drafting service under the supervision of another architect. 

Your software subscriptions should be part of your overhead that's built into your hourly rate. Same with your taxes. You will most likely get issued a 1099 as an independent contractor. 

Mar 25, 24 7:04 am  · 
2  · 

It would be worth getting your own insurance - a $1 million general and professional liability insurance is pretty cheap given your anticipated revenue and easily baked into the rate you give them.

Mar 25, 24 9:36 am  · 
2  · 
reallynotmyname