Archinect
anchor

Should I move on from Architecture??

Thesefourcorners

Hello from Australia! I graduated with a bachelor of architectural studies last year and then worked in a firm for a few months. I quit after finding the profession to be very business and corporate centred (long hours, little reward). I have since enrolled in a Master of Secondary Teaching (Design & Technology). I graduated with a distinction average and worked very very long hours on ideas/projects. I am now wondering whether I quit too soon and should have tried another job or if I should just move on…

Feb 1, 24 12:21 pm
Non Sequitur

you quit after working only a few weeks?  Obviously you did not get enough exposure to the professional world.  Yes, it's a hard discipline and there are loads of aspects of the job that are long and tedious and since the real world resolves around money and not unicorns, business is important... but with that said, there are plenty of offices that make it work without treating their staff like garbage.  Sounds like you just got into a shitty office.

I guess you did zero research about the world of architecture prior to and while completing your bachelors.  Try not to repeat this mistake as you move on in your career choices.

Feb 1, 24 1:13 pm  · 
2  · 
Thesefourcorners

Thanks for your comment. I worked for 3 months in an architectural firm after graduating as well as working for the planning & design department for a large retailer and I did professional work experience.

Feb 1, 24 5:05 pm  · 
 · 
Thesefourcorners

Yeah I do agree I may have landed in a position that wasn’t well suited to me. My peers, including myself, have found it very difficult to find any work since graduating and often have to settle for whatever position we can find. Perhaps I’ll give it another go in a different office. Thanks!

Feb 1, 24 5:07 pm  · 
1  ·