Archinect
anchor

1099 vs W-2 for AXP Eligibility

ANTACE95

I am starting up my AXP record process and I want to know what type of Employment is acceptable by NCARB when logging in my hours through them. I understand that my supervisor needs to be a Registered Architect. ( 1 ) Can I work as a 1099 or do I need to be a W-2? ( 2 ) does it matter if I work Full-time or Part-time?

Aug 17, 23 1:21 am

W-2 is essentially a guarantee especially if you work under the supervision of an architect. If you are under the supervision of an architect that meets professional standard of care regarding the direct control and supervision, you can not legally be an independent contractor. An architect stamping work prepared by an unlicensed person who is in an independent contractor relationship, the architect would be aiding and abetting unlawful practice of architecture of an unlicensed person by stamping drawings not prepared under direct supervision and control. Direct supervision and control requires the person to be EMPLOYED as an employee not as an independent contractor. Direct supervision and control is a requirement for most of the AXP hours. 

However, there are two types of employment as an employee. One is standard employment and the other is as a contracted employee but you'll need to be an employee as would be taxed as one not an independent contractor because the independence of direct supervision and control is an essential part of the very definition of an independent contractor.

Yes, there are architects that are technically violating the laws with interns/AXP trainees working in an independent contractor relationship. 1099-MISC (described under IRS as self-employment) is essentially another way of saying "independent contractor" and should only apply to independent contractor relationship such as between a professional and a client. The problem is, if you are an independent contractor working with an architect, you might have your AXP hours rejected by NCARB.