Archinect
anchor

M. Arch I programs with Urban Design focus

LinkOne

Hi,

Can anyone tell me what M Arch I (if any) courses have a strong urban design focus?

I am an urban designer with a background in urban planning, and am looking to expand my knowledge through undertaking a master's of architecture program. Ideally, it would be great to partake in design studios at both the architectural and urban scales.

Any help on this would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

May 20, 10 7:16 am

at least when i was at georgia tech back in 2001-2003 there was a strong (although informal) focus on urban design... i believe that they now also have a M.S. in urban design, so you may be able to do a dual degree as well...

May 20, 10 8:11 am  · 
 · 
LinkOne

Thanks for your reponse Phillip. I will look into Georgia tech.

I already have an MA in urban design, so I think a dual degree would be too much of an overlap. To develop my design skills at a detailed level I want to study an M Arch program. Do you know anything about the focus of courses at GSD, YSOA and princeton are?

May 20, 10 10:00 am  · 
 · 
jacob

Kent State

May 20, 10 4:39 pm  · 
 · 
ARCHCareersGuide.com

University of Maryland
http://www.arch.umd.edu

They offer a certificate in Urban Design as part of their Master of Architecture

The Certificate in Urban Design offers to graduate students enrolled in the Master of Architecture the opportunity to be graduated with added expertise and enhanced credentials in urban design.

The program provides instruction and certification in the emerging discipline of urban design. Although not a separate degree program, the curriculum offers courses in urban design and related subjects with a strong emphasis in the design studio experience. Its existence complements the professional and post-professional degree program and is comprised of courses currently offered at College Park.

May 20, 10 9:36 pm  · 
 · 
azcue