Archinect
anchor

urban agriculture / green roof certification

Liav

I'm a recent grad from the university of Toronto's MArch program, with two years industry experience. I got laid off a few months ago. Since then I've become very interested in urban agriculture. I've been talking to knowledgable people and asking them what they felt were the areas that really need to be addressed, from the urban-agriculture perspective. Green roofs/walls keeps coming up.

So, I'm now seriously considering the getting the Green Roof Professional Accreditation ( http://www.greenroofs.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=874&Itemid= ).

It's (from my perspective) fiendishly expensive. Even if I just buy the study material and don't take the courses it's still very expensive.

Does anyone have experience with this program? Any other thoughts on ways to move into urban agriculture?

Cheers,
Liav.

Mar 12, 09 12:03 am
24-7tecture

Just do it! I think all these "labels/accreditation" are getting out of control. If you want to design green roof's than do it.

Mar 12, 09 12:12 am  · 
 · 
Liav

I'd love to. But I don't know how, yet. : ) I'm trying to find places where I can get some experience. And texts that cover the theory. Any suggestions on that front would be excellent, too.

L

Mar 12, 09 12:19 am  · 
 · 
24-7tecture

What "theory" are you talking about?

If your talking about green roofs - look up books on the subject, look at roofing mfr's for details, find examples of green roofs in your area (or close by) and contact the architect and/or contractor who did it.

Mar 12, 09 12:24 am  · 
 · 
Urbanist