Archinect
anchor

MSRED vs M.Arch/MBA

Largetexas

Hello, I was recenty accepted in Cornell's Masters in Real Estate program. While initially excited, I am now freaked out that I might have pursued the wrong program for my interest/passions having just became aware of the Yale M.Arch/MBA combo. Ughhhh! Quick background: I've worked as an entrepreneurial retail real estate broker for the last 5 years. The part of RE I love is the conceptualization/creation. Much of the work I've done has been for little profit, but has helped revitalize neglected and historicly significant urban areas in my city. My background is in art. I majored in studio art/painting as an undergrad and love creating and working collaboratively. Real estate development, to me, is exciting because it's creation on a large scale effecting, hopefully, positive change in the built environment. My goal is to form a development company that specializes in architecturally significant urban infill and mixed-income, mixed use developments.

Has anyone gone through either the MSRED or M.Arch/MBA program? Any advice for a confused lover of art, architecture, and development?

Thanks so much!

Mar 7, 09 10:18 am

I would go the way of MArch/MBA or MArch/MSRED. That way you could design the buildings yourself. I'm pretty sure that there are several programs that make that pairing. Off the top of my head, I'm pretty sure that both UPenn and Columbia do.

Mar 7, 09 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

I'd go for the full MArch too. I am pretty much learning as I go now, but have considered going back for a MBA in RE. Get them both done at the same time, if you can.

I'd call Yale, Columbia and others and explain your situation. While probably not flexible with deadlines, you might be able to get on a waiting list, particularly if you have good credentials (the MBA I am looking at requires 10 years of professional experience, so not sure what other would require).

Mar 7, 09 8:07 pm  · 
 · 
trace™