Archinect
anchor

Information Architect Seeks Assist from Regular-Old Architects

info architect

Hi there!

I'm an information architect, and I'm seeking-out "regular-old architects" and their wisdom, anecdotes and advice for a book about clients who change their minds about design they've already signed off on, and what we can do prevent these mid-game goalpost-moving moments.

A short summary of the book idea is here:

http://danklyn.com/blog/?page_id=183

Anybody feeling generous and chatty? What do regular-old architects do to protect design and strategic intent while developing architecture solutions for their clients? Is the durability of client buy-in and sign-off any better or worse when there are physical models for the client to put their hands on ... or when there's 3D CAD stuff to "fly thru"?

THANKS!

Dan Klyn
wildlyappropriate.com

Jan 5, 09 9:13 pm

cynical me says:

What do regular-old architects do to protect design and strategic intent while developing architecture solutions for their clients?

sacrifice.

Is the durability of client buy-in and sign-off any better or worse when there are physical models for the client to put their hands on ... or when there's 3D CAD stuff to "fly thru"?

no.

you redo - you lose money.

Jan 5, 09 9:34 pm  · 
 · 
dia

define "information architect" and "regular-old architect".

Jan 5, 09 9:36 pm  · 
 · 

i think, with us 'regulars,' it is about the process of adjusting and re-adjusting.
but what it is suggested by 'our' manuals is to get the client literally initial the piece of document, usually a blueprint, perspective sketch, description of sorts, etc. and move on the 'next' stage of the long process, which is also identified in parts, ie; programming, schematic design, design development, construction documents, construction administration, post move in services etc..