Archinect
anchor

How can a building be 'critical'?

nb072

I'm a undergrad (senior year!) at a rather intellectual school. Right now we're designing in a studio an academic building for the art program, a little ways off campus.

My professor is really intelligent and interesting, but I just can't follow exactly what she means. She says our buildings should be "critical" and have a "critical agenda." Basically, I think this means that the building should be saying something / taking a stance / commentating on something. She says it should have a stance on the buildings role in its specific location on campus and on how art is produced. But I think she also means 'critical agenda' in a deeper way that I don't quite grasp.

Can someone who's been around the block explain to me how a building can have a critical agenda? Rather than just looking cool, being a good neighbor on its block, and setting up good programmatic relationships so that it functions well?

Thanks!
-Nico

Sep 22, 08 9:29 pm
binary

code red...... we have a code red......chains off the doors......the enemy is here

maybe she wants something that has substance and not just some random b.s.

or maybe if your idea is to have zombies in the studios...then you better have some zombies in the walls or something......

Sep 22, 08 9:36 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

I would take 'being critical' to mean avoiding assumptions, especially about the things that seem most obvious. How is your project more than just 'practice for the real world'? How does it contribute in an informed way to architecture as a whole?

Sep 22, 08 9:39 pm  · 
 · 
mespellrong

I particularly like Mary Povey's construction, "In my view, critical should not mean judgmental, but rather crucial, or essential."

But you should look up the convention of the editors of Critical Inquiry, and peruse the various position statements they wrote. One of them should strike a chord with you, and you can build a project around that.