Archinect
anchor

Yale/GSD/MIT

Sorry to do this...I know that this has already been talked into the ground, but just got back from Yale's Open House yesterday.

Since decisions have to be made by Tuesday I am now more conflicted than ever about which school offers up the most:
Resources
Dialogue (theoretical/practical)
Relevant Discussion of the place in Sustainability in Design
Commitment to design which addresses social, economic, ecological disparities
Post Grad Opportunities
And an overall good time.

I'd like to come out of grad school with an amazing portfolio, great friends and being able to honestly tell everyone I had a great experience.

I have a BS in Architecture and four years of experience in New York.

Apr 11, 08 11:17 am
tempdrive

(Disclosure: I am a current yale student)

Resources:

Currently Yale but the others can't be far behind...three 3 axis mills, 6 axis robotic mill, plastic printer, plaster printer, 4 laser cutters, hot wire foam cutter....go look at the website...

Dialogue: at this point it's a coin flip, it will all depend on who you want to be dialoging with

Sustainability: I would say Yale with the growing influence of the school of forestry partnership, there is a new endowment for a professor next year who will teach in both programs, also working with the guys from Atelier Ten in the systems class, as well as the classes that Jim Axley teaches.

Commitment to social, economic, ecological: Harvard is addressing this on the global scale most effectively. At yale you can find a professor or two (Mario Gooden...another name isn't coming to mind) who are interested in the but for the most part there is a wide ranging discourse that all falls with the insular umbrella of architecture for architectures sake. (In this aspect I have been dissapointed)

Post Grad Opportunities: again its a coin toss, any of these schools with open up a bunch of opportunities