Archinect
anchor

Cornell, UT or UW...like this stuff is easy!

whizkid

So I was accepted into the MArch programs at Cornell, UT and UW. I just went to Austin and loved it. I am planning to got to both Seattle and Ithica to see the schools for myself, but any insight into the programs would be wonderful!

Apr 10, 08 12:27 pm
pDESIGN

Biased Opinion:

I graduated last spring with an M.Arch from UT. I'm now working in NYC and the program there served me well. For me it was a great experience. The program is NOT as design oriented as Columbia, GSD, MIT, etc, but is highly respected and, as a state school, is one of the best Public architectural educations available.

Austin is an amazing city. Despite the greatness of NYC, I still reminisce of outdoor music festivals (SXSW, ACL, etc), great bars and a generally amazing city. It is NOT the best place for public transit, but if you manage to live close to campus then your life there should/will be great. It's a good place if you're concerned about 'quality of life'.

100% behind UT. It served me well. You might even get through without a Texan accent. You'll probably leave the state wearing a cowboy hat, however. ;)

Apr 10, 08 1:43 pm  · 
 · 
ichweiB

I will second UT. I don't go there, but to another Texas school. UT is exceptional as it is with all its professional programs. I simply didn't have the grades to get in.
Because I live in Texas (Vienna actually), I know more about it than Cornell or UW. I do know UW has a lot of great aspects regarding sustainable design. Honestly, it is personal. When they say there are different "schools of thought" you can take this very literally when it comes to Architecture and a "school of thought." Decide what you are interested in ultimately and make a decision!

Apr 11, 08 2:21 pm  · 
 · 
rambleon