Archinect
anchor

Frustrated with Architecture School?

AngryArch

I am rather active here on Archinect but have decided to create an alter ego so that i may vent my anger, and so my particular institutions will not be known and consequently disliked.

I am now in my 3rd year of school and I have found myself becoming Very irritated with school for whatever reason. I have attended 2 different (both very reputable) schools of architeture.
And I am finding the same irrritations here as I did at my last University. Perhaps it is architecture in general that is bothering me I dont know......Anyways here is a list of my grievances.

Why do architects and professors feel the need to turn a relatively simple idea into a cluster-fuck by using elaborate and fluffed-up words? What can be expressed in 7-8 simple words will become
26-89 useless terms.

As intellectual as I thought architecture was I am becoming more and more annoyed during jury/crits when the "prettiest" project is praised the highest.

The argument has gone back and forth for quite a while I know, but I would REALLY like some more practical knowledge in school. I mean sometimes I feel like I am in a sculpture or painting class.

Theres more but I think im done for now

Jan 25, 08 10:09 am
futureboy

welcome to the profession. don't think it gets better after school, in fact, if anything it gets worse.....so if you're frustrated now it won't stop once you leave.
not saying its right, but alas as much as the profession postures intellectualism it does really come down to marketing and salesmanship.

Jan 25, 08 10:22 am  · 
 · 
won and done williams
not saying its right, but alas as much as the profession postures intellectualism it does really come down to marketing and salesmanship.