Archinect
anchor

Marcos Novak

Neil Corr

Dear Reader

I am a researcher with the School of Creative Industries, Napier University (Edinburgh), where I am currently involved in a research project that explores the recent AlloBrain@AlloSphere work of Marcos Novak.

At this stage, I am gathering opinions from the field as to if, how and why Novak’s work is considered to be ‘visionary’. I was hoping you might spare some time to give your opinions by way of 3 questions I have devised.

• Does Marcos Novak’s recent work, AlloBrain@AlloSphere represent a shift in architectural theory and practice?

• Should Novak’s work be considered ‘visionary’ – that is, will it contribute to a conceptual language, but have little practical impact on how things are built? Or, is he opening the door to new ‘ways of seeing’ the relations of the world and the built environment that will directly affect the practice of architecture?

• With nanotechnology and biotechnology further blurring the distinction between flesh and stone, does Novak’s work hold the key to the aesthetics of future architecture?

I hope to publish the paper later in the year, and would be thankful if you could take time to answer the attached brief questions.

Kind Regards,

Neil Corr
Researcher
School of Creative Industries
Napier University
Edinburgh
EH6 5DW

Email: [email protected]

Jan 22, 08 1:05 pm
futureboy

please post something regarding this so we can evaluate it....
i do always enjoy seeing what marcos is doing, but alas his stuff has rarely had any possibility of impacting the practicalities of the profession. brilliant human being, incredibly sophisticated artist, but alas....architecture suffers neither well as it is much broader, muddier, and affected than such brilliance can typically deal with. i'd love to see what he's up to now, though.

Jan 22, 08 7:30 pm  · 
 · 
Neil Corr

HI,