Archinect
anchor

What the eff?

boxy

Ok, I've been studying the math portion of the GRE for some time now and I still have no idea what an up arrow does. For example: 2 ^ 2 but imagine that the tip of that arrow has a stem so that it looks like a real arrow. anyone have an idea?

Nov 28, 07 1:14 am
franciscoalarcon

2^2=4

:)

Nov 28, 07 6:45 am  · 
 · 
minimalicious

^ = to the power of

Nov 28, 07 6:52 am  · 
 · 
minimalicious

for instance 2^3 actually means 2x2x2

Nov 28, 07 6:56 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

it's amazing how quickly we forget fifth grade math when we don't use it. i couldn't remember what the carrot meant either.

Nov 28, 07 10:19 am  · 
 · 
med.

The '^' symbol is the thing you use on your calculator to do exponents.

2^2 is

2 to the 2nd power.

I was confused about all the symbols on the GRE when I took the exam. Had I studied for the math part, I would have done a little better. Oh well.

Nov 28, 07 10:50 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

i had trouble with the vocab.

Nov 28, 07 11:04 am  · 
 · 
med.

I thought the vocab part was easier for me just because I have always been interested in the etymology of English words and the English language in general.

Don't get me wrong, I still did a less-than stellar job on that part too. No big deal. It was a boring and meaningless exam anyways.

Nov 28, 07 11:13 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

yes, it was. math was my thing, but i can't speak english.

Nov 28, 07 11:35 am  · 
 · 
boxy

i'm talking about a different symbol. it actually looks like an arrow pointing up... like this:

usually it's in place of an = sign, like x (up arrow) 0

Nov 28, 07 9:34 pm  · 
 · 
Gloominati

What study source are you using? Does it not have some kind of symbol key in it somewhere?

An arrow symbol like that isn't a typical math symbol - and it's not something you'll see on the actual GRE. I'm betting that your study book is using that in place of some more common symbol (like the carat that the posters above were assuming you meant.)