Archinect
anchor

quarter-life dilemma: teaching or professional mediocrity

minimalicious

I just finished a Masters of Science degree a few months ago. It is a highly specialized degree from an ivy league school. I graduated with honors. I opted to not get a professional degree because i wanted to teach. I was hoping this route would work.

Now that I'm done, I don't really see too many teaching opportunities and have no teaching experience. I can't seem to find a job with a firm that might help me along. No respectable firm has expressed any interest in my work. I thought this route, (working for a great firm with similar interests) could help me teach at the university level later on.

So far, i've been working for a young but mediocre firm with great people, pay, and benefits, but the work is blah, and completely commercial / business oriented (ie no art, theory, research etc.). It's getting me no where.

I see my options as:
1) begin writing, publishing and saving money for a Ph.D., and begin teaching that way.
2) return to my undergrad school seeking a professional degree in attempts to be offered a teaching job there. In which case, my specialized holds no value to this (old/contextual) school. I was offered a design studio job there before leaving town. This somehow fell through.
3) forget it all and just work as an unlicensed monkey for the rest of my life, and just enjoy the money, and the new town I am in.

Nov 26, 07 6:01 pm
mdler

what do you have to offer in teaching????

Nov 26, 07 6:35 pm  · 
 · 
le bossman