Archinect
anchor

My Portfolio: Columbia Quality or Headed to Community College???

blaise

Like many other, here's my portfolio. I am a recent graduate from a liberal arts college where i majored in Art History. I have little to now real architectural experience, thus I'd be going into the 4+ year M.Arch program. I'm applying to Columbia, Parsons, CCA, CUDenver, and UNM. Compared to the four other portfolios I've discovered linked on this forum, mine appears very different in style and content. Not sure if its a good or bad thing. Please let me know your thoughts, the more critcal the constructive of a process. Thank you all for your time and feedback.

(3.5 meg to keep detail - might take a sec or two to load)
http://abtreeson.googlepages.com/COMPENDIUM.pdf

Ohhh, on a final note, my GREs are low 1200s, anyone know where this falls with regard to my choose schools?

Nov 17, 07 2:36 am
njp

i quickly scanned through in about 30 seconds. you have some decent content, but the layout is very weak which undermines the the thought and process that most likely went into each of your projects. definately lose the "blueprint" font on your titles and i would also reformat (simplify) your pages; they're much too busy and crowded and there's no consistency or flow between them....

Nov 17, 07 3:01 am  · 
 · 

the work is quite interesting. the presentation is not of same quality.

to make things easy i would suggest a non-design approach to the layout. drop the cute fonts; use futura or something simple instead; place pictures simply, and very matter of factly, without overlap. don't be afraid of white space.

if you can arrange images to create a narrative would be great.

luck!

Nov 17, 07 3:32 am  · 
 · 
daisybop