Archinect
anchor

The Wine Thread

boxy

I want to try out some new, reasonably priced wines and haven't had much luck finding any gems here in nyc. the store owners here seem to be in the biz for $$. I think I was spoiled living in the northwest for so long.

Any suggestions in the $10-$30 range? I like tasting all varietals from all regions. Extra points if you can find me a cheap but quaffable italian wine.

Aug 26, 07 6:13 pm

finally a wine thread!

A little cheaper than you asked for (I am a College student after all) but here is I am drinking:

-VI. TRA bottled, D'Aquino imported Chianti - $5.99 at TJ's

I am also fond of Penascal Tempranillo - about $6.99

For those in Boston Le Zygomates has a good wine tasting. I went there for the organic wine tasting some good selections which I will put up here when I find the menu from the night.

Aug 26, 07 6:34 pm  · 
 · 
w3
Food & Wine

has a decent search. I have an Italian Sangiovese I'd like to suggest but I'm having a hard time finding it online right now - will post as soon as i can find it.
Good idea for a thread - I'm looking forward to seeing/trying what people have to post here.

Aug 26, 07 7:26 pm  · 
 · 

This is a perfect thread. Its been a long time coming. I'm no sommelier but I know what I like, and I have a good nose for reds particularly those from desert climates.

Soooo I'm going to take a few pictures of mine and post

Aug 26, 07 7:49 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

here's a fine website from archinect's very own KaTzE

Aug 26, 07 7:50 pm  · 
 · 

The available bottles;

From France
Mommensin Shiraz Pinot Noir 2004 blend, delightfully musky
and a couple from South Africa
Roodeberg 2003
Beyerskloof Pinotage 2004

Aug 26, 07 8:18 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

two buck chuck is great for making pot roast, but you get what you pay for when buying wines under $20. I still get most of my vinticultural fixes from trader joes.

Aug 26, 07 8:41 pm  · 
 · 
joshua

k here it goes..let me know if you want more...