Archinect
anchor

life after OMA

this is mainly aimed at the brits...

i'm a british architecture student one my first year out...i'm currently doing six months at OMA and want to move back to britain after that...

...any suggestions on good london offices for internship?

i'm currently thinking Caruso St John, Tony Fretton, Chipperfield, Sergison Bates, EEA London

cheers

Aug 22, 07 7:59 am

your list seems like you know what type of architecture you are interested in except EEA. more in line with the others would be david adjaye.

Aug 22, 07 8:07 am  · 
 · 
r

true...eea is pretty much in the ball park tho on the outter reaches of modernism before we reach the completely digital offices...

cheers

Aug 22, 07 8:13 am  · 
 · 
j-turn

none of those offices is remotely as exciting as OMA.

Aug 22, 07 8:56 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

nothings as exciting as OMA. oh i just got a woody typing their famous initials.

Aug 22, 07 9:01 am  · 
 · 

those offices aren't trying to be 'exciting', they are trying to be good.

Aug 22, 07 9:30 am  · 
 · 
r

my sentiments exactly...

...i hate this whole blind admiration for 'wow', whats wrong with producing rock solid design fuelled by program, context and spatiallity?

Aug 22, 07 9:37 am  · 
 · 

seth stein, or
simon conder

also might interest you

Aug 22, 07 9:54 am  · 
 · 
r

very nice, thank you

Aug 22, 07 10:07 am  · 
 · 

I love Caruso St. John
I find "their" approach much softer but more pretty and thoughtful than OMA

Aug 22, 07 11:49 am  · 
 · 
r

i think their amazingly good, with a beatifully off-key approach...the way they play with their ecclectic influences is very poetic, and pushing british architecture forward

Aug 22, 07 11:58 am  · 
 · 
publix

there is no life after OMA...

Aug 23, 07 10:52 am  · 
 · 

... but is there an AMO afterlife?

Aug 23, 07 12:06 pm  · 
 · 
publix

or AMO retfa efil ?

Aug 23, 07 3:43 pm  · 
 · 
snooker

The long slide down hill......after OMA....

Aug 23, 07 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
r