Archinect
anchor

Archinecters in Rio de Janeiro

RoedGroed

I'm hoping to go there very soon, like next week, and stay for a couple of months, so looking for cheap/affordable accomodation.
If anyone wants to offer a small/box room or know where to look/call please let me know.
If not picky at all: Just need somewhere to crash (could be the floor) and where I can shower and change clothes.
Needless to say, I'm a student and have very little money so won't be able to afford an agency holiday apartment.

Jul 24, 07 11:42 pm
snooker

How is your Portugese?

Jul 25, 07 12:29 pm  · 
 · 
RoedGroed

Non-existent...I know...Willing to learn though. Normally good with languages.
Maybe worth mentioning that I'm not planning on vegetating on the beach - I hope make myself quite busy, not holidaying.

Jul 25, 07 5:41 pm  · 
 · 
snooker

roedgroed.....my wife is from Rio....so start studying. Where you from [country]?

Jul 25, 07 6:53 pm  · 
 · 
RoedGroed

I'm from Denmark. I speak Danish and English fluently, understand some German, can read a bit of French. It's all downhill from there I'm afraid...

Jul 25, 07 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
snooker

maybe you should stay put and do a study under the great master of 3dh, then you wouldn't have to worry about learning a language and trying to keep up with those Brazilian Women....

Jul 26, 07 10:42 am  · 
 · 
simples

roedgroed...just make sure that Rio is not your status quo decision...Sao Paulo has a beautiful strictness to their brutalism...
i always liked the analogy that oscar niemeyer is to rio as paulo mendes da rocha is to sao paulo
( http://www.pritzkerprize.com/full_new_site/2006/pdf/photobook.pdf )

Jul 26, 07 11:34 am  · 
 · 

what exactly are you going to Rio for? Just don't swallow any funny looking pellets on your return.

I've been looking to visit myself, I'm just waiting to leave this ridiculously stressful job

Jul 26, 07 11:51 am  · 
 · 
RoedGroed