Archinect
anchor

What was your path to Architecture like?

Jamchar

Im sure there are plenty of you out there that knew you wanted to study architecture in high school. so went and did the B. Arch path or maybe you did the 4+2 path.......etc.

But what about the rest of you? especially those M Arch 1 people that are facing 3-4years of graduate work because your path to architecture was a little longer.

I started school wanting to be an engineer, got a little bored with engineering (wasnt really what i thought it would be). So I changed schools and my senior year of college I started my fisrt design studio. After a full year I really sat down and did the math and (b/c of studios) I wasnt going to to do 7 years of undergrad for a BA!

so I graduated with a degree in Art history and now will start my
M Arch 1 in the fall.

Whats your story??

May 22, 07 4:45 pm
el jeffe

liked designing as a kid.
got interested in cars.
looked at arch schools while in high school.
by the time i graduated high school there was a nice recession going on.
decided to go into mechanical engineering since it was a bit more recession proof than architecture and i could do the whole car/racing thing.
turns out i didn't like being in college at the time.
bailed out after a few tries and worked odd jobs for a couple of years.
i was sitting in my apartment one night watching a pbs special about paul rudolph (i had always admired his work). as i was watching it i slowly remembered that i had considered architecture and had one of those 'shit - why not?!' moments.
moved back home and started attending arch school.
here i am today, with a couple of bids in hand for a project that came in high and the client is freaking out. good times!!

May 22, 07 4:56 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball