Archinect
anchor

Presenting professional work

guppy

I'm hoping to change jobs/cities in the next few months and am trying to figure out the best way to present my professional work to potential employers. I have three years of experience, so I'll still be showing some of "my" work, from school, etc., which is simple enough. But since the bulk of my project experience has been on large (+/-300,000sf), complex buildings, with multiple hands, what are the ethical issues involved in claiming work? I've been fortunate to work full time on a couple of these projects from SD to CA, doing all kinds of stuff, but it is almost never the case that I could claim sole authorship on any of it. Furthermore, if I did only show images/drawings that were incontrovertibly "mine," these wouldn't be sufficient to explain the projects. I take it that the presentation of professional work in a portfolio is meant to be a conversation starter both about specific skill sets (CAD, etc.) but also what I've generally been exposed to thus far in the profession.
What I would like to do is this: graphically present the project in its totality, highlighting the things I was most directly involved in, and being clear in my resume and interview what my specific role as project team member was.
Just a couple of examples of the kinds of things I'm tussling with:
If I did substantial redline revisions to a wall section, but didn't develop the section from scratch can I show it?
If I built a computer model which was then rendered by an outside firm because of time constraints, do I show that image, or conversely if I rendered/photoshopped a model that I didn't build? What are the rules here? Sorry to prattle on so long. Thanks in advance for your responses.

Apr 8, 07 11:37 pm
Bloopox

Nobody expects you to show professional work that is solely yours. In fact, since potential employers will care deeply about your ability to work in a team, they often prefer to see work that is not solely yours.