Archinect
anchor

The United States Peace Corps, its relevance in the world of architecture

kritz

Hello,

I am a Return Peace Corps Volunteer; in 2003 I graduated from college with a masters degree in architecture. In the fall of that same year I joined the Peace Corps and was placed in the Urban Planning office of a small Municipality in Northern Albania.

I got there with three months of language training, enough to say hello, thank you and comment on the weather and that was it. I had no desk and everyone was afraid to talk to me because they thought I was “with the Mayor” a man they were terrified of. The first few months were a struggle but I wrote grants and got money and completed project. In the end the greatest experience of my life and an all around success.

I guess my question to architects is, how relevant was my Peace Corps experience and where do I stand now, how would these two years be viewed by someone who is hiring?

I see ads that require two years of post graduate work experience, do I qualify. I used and taught AutoCAD, I had complete responsibility for all the projects I undertook but I have never worked in an architectural office; I have never worked with other architects. The type of people I worked with started drinking at 8:00AM and got paid 250 dollars a month. These were great people but really tough, constantly yelling and swearing, they would put their cigarettes out on the floor and if they had a problem with you, you knew it.

Has anyone else met any former Peace Corps Volunteers turned architects?

The last month I have been in Dubai looking for work and found it difficult to explain, what the Peace Corps is, my motivation for joining the Peace Corps and its relevance.

Any comments from people in world of architecture would be greatly appreciated.

Sep 15, 06 3:49 am
A