Archinect
anchor

Does Columbia still draw by hand?

planX

I am trying to decide where to go to grad school and my strength is in hand drawing and model building, and some comp. work.
I graduated in 97 before most schools were inandated with lthe computer. My philosophy is that I think you can use both of them to do great design and images. I have just heard that Columbia is all digital. Someone fill me in please.

Aug 2, 06 7:36 pm
rsteath

good question

Aug 2, 06 7:37 pm  · 
 · 

i'm sure they don't hold a gun to your head to force you use a computer. same for any school.

at a panel discussion with peter cook (archigram not christie brinkley), he noted that, and i quote, "i heard the smartest kids in the class at columbia are drawing by hand this semester."

Aug 2, 06 7:43 pm  · 
 · 
silverlake

i think any studio would welcome hand drawings over renderings...
they usually look better and stand out from the heard of glossiness.

Aug 2, 06 7:50 pm  · 
 · 
oldirty

When I was there, there was one computer for every two students in first year and in second and third year, everyone got their own computer. So you could definitely draw by hand first year-there was one critic, I don't know if he is still there-Philip Parker-who basically required hand drawing-a lot of it. And some of the other critics didnt care either way. I do honestly think that once you got out of the core sequence it would be harder to do it all by hand and the school is very computer based (I personally think that a lot of that has to do with space constraints) though I think it's less computer crazy now with Wigley in charge. And a lot of critics would love you if you are a really good model builder. it's all about ideas anyway and however best you can express them, so I would definitely consider Columbia-my only caveat though is that this applies if you are applying to the 3 year program-I don't know much about the 1.5 yr program and I think that it is actually more computer heavy.