Archinect
anchor

Q. about practicing ARCHITECTURE.

circle

I am a student and have been super big on the idea of becoming a designer and have been preparing like crazy for design school.

However, after reading some comments on this forum about how going to school for architecture is like going to school to become a rock star I feel really worried.

Those kind of comments worry me greatly because in high school I realized that even though I am passionate about music and don't care about money, the chances are slim to none in the real
world to make a living out of it.

Later when I discovered design I felt all that hope come back of working in a creative artistic proffession doing beautiful work. So I need your help in giving it to me straight based on your own experiences.

I would just like to ask all of the architects here,

1, How much of your job actually consists of "designing?"

2. Do you get to do creative, beautiful, and meaning work?

3. Am I being arrogent when I look at design magazines hopeing
that some day I'll also have the opportunity to do creative work
like I see in the magazines and the few places around my
community? Would that be a longshot?

I am ready to throw away any preconceived notions I have about architecture and I would really appreciate your input.

May 24, 06 12:12 am
swisscardlite

from what i've heard, the practice of architecture deals not only with design, but many other subjects. you deal with people (since this creative profession is based on people), the science of architecture, finance, the process in which a building is created..etc. I think all of this is part of the process in which your ideas become product. so they say, you have to be a renassaince person to be an architect. you do many things. and i guess that answers your question no.2. Being involved in all these parts of the process in getting your idea built contributes to the realization of your ideas.