Archinect
anchor

To Teach or To Practice?

Md-S

I have a 5 year Professional Degree and a Masters of Science in Arch Viz. I graduated last Spring and after sending out over 300 applications and interviewing on end, I got a temp position at a firm in the South where I pretty much earned minimum wage.

After 2 grueling months, I summoned the courage to quit. This Spring I got an adjunct teaching position at a school in the Midwest. The pay is a little more than what I made at the firm, but I only teach 2 mornings a week. I still haven't found a full time job at a firm, but I am using the free time to take my ARE.

Today, I got a call from my old firm asking me to consider a full time position for about 40K. I am in a dilemma, because there is potential to get a full time faculty position at the school for up to 60K soon. I like teaching, but I would rather practice all things being equal. The question is, do I forgo the relative job safety of the academia for the perils of practice. Is it worth it?

Jan 18, 11 3:42 pm
mdler

Teach and open a practice on the side.

Jan 18, 11 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
tagalong

just make sure you get all your IDP hours logged...then is really is a which would you rather situation

Jan 18, 11 4:47 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

if it were me i'd stay in school. you will have the time to practice on the side, in the ways you want to

Jan 18, 11 5:19 pm  · 
 · 
elinor

assuming you finished idp or can finish w/o having to work under an architect, don't take the job! finish your exams, get a license, and practice on your own.

Jan 18, 11 5:37 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Teaching jobs are not necessarily any "safer" than those in practice.

Tenured faculty are the safest: i.e., hardest to fire.

Tenure-track (probationary) faculty are "safe" for a few years, after which the fiery gauntlet of the tenure process may or may not go your way. If not: hit the road.