Archinect
anchor

Interview Clothes Advice?

CheesesChrist

I'm a recent college graduate going in for 2 interviews in NYC, and have limited dress attire. Is spending $300-400 on clothes and shoes worth it? Any tips?

Aug 7, 10 12:59 pm
Paradox
Aug 7, 10 1:10 pm  · 
 · 
Voltaire

Who looks at clothes? Make sure you wear a nice watch and a good pair of shoes, though, makes you look organized (if your personality does not necessarily show it).

Aug 7, 10 1:40 pm  · 
Obstsalat

wait, so should I wear yellow? I've heard it's the new black...

Aug 7, 10 2:45 pm  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn

Depends on whether you're a man or a woman, what kind of impression you want to leave and what your overall goal is.

Aug 7, 10 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
CheesesChrist

Thanks for the responses. I'm a guy. I would like to showcase subtle class, and let my portfolio and interview do the rest. My main dilemma is one firm is a national health-care firm (the other is high-end residential) So I don't want to go too black...

Do I need a jacket? or could I get away with a nice shirt, skinny tie, and oxfords...any advice appreciated.

Aug 7, 10 3:31 pm  · 
 · 
Distant Unicorn

If you go sans jacket, wear a vest.

Grey/ash or grey with subtle pinstripes, possibly navy blue would work for both locations.

Khaki, white, light grey, funky colors would only fly at the high-end residential firm (and that really, really depends on where you live or are interviewing).

The national healthcare firm would be definitely straight laced. You could get a pair of really nice jeans and a sports coat... that way you can get at least two or three days a week of use out of it.

Remember, what ever you interview in is what you're going to be wearing til you basically retire. So, don't just buy an "interview outfit" for one time use.

Brown and plaid will work and give you more "semi casual" options. But you have to be either really attractive or really smart to pull that shizz off.

Aug 7, 10 3:52 pm  · 
 · 
Sharky McPeterson